Samphire, Glorious Glorious Samphire

If you’re cooking a bit of fish there are few accompaniments that are as good as some delicious Samphire. It’s super easy to cook, tastes of the sea and only takes minutes.  You really don’t have to do anything to it to make it shine.  Bring a pan of water to the boil and let it bubble away for three minutes, drain, serve and hey presto you have a delicious bowl of greens.  If you feel like pushing it a little further a squeeze of lemon juice, a bit of butter and some black pepper won’t harm it.  We had it last night straight up with some skate wings and a caper butter sauce – it truly was a feast.

It grows in the marshy land around the coast and is therefore plenty salty enough.  I got mine from the lovely Steve Hatt on the Essex Road, but all good fishmongers will have it in stock or will be able to get you some easily.

Oh, and on another note…the garden has been blooming in my absence, I’ll post a little update shortly.  I really think it’s a good thing for it if I leave it alone to do it’s thing.  So the more holidays the better really.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Fish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Samphire, Glorious Glorious Samphire

  1. Conor Bofin says:

    I am a big samphire fan. When in the south of France, we pick our own around the salt marshes. It is perfect with any seafood.
    Best,
    Conor

    • Laura Fyfe says:

      Jealous! I’d love to pick my own, I’ve heard Norfolk is a good place for it – perhaps I’ll make a trip there this summer…or even better, to the South of France!

  2. Jenny Lau says:

    OH nice… I think we should go on a foraging trip!x

Leave a Reply

