Easter Eggs (salted caramel)

DSC_0692

While I was training at catering college (in about 2007) I was shown how to make Easter eggs and I thought to myself – “Wow, that’s easy, I’m totally going to make them every year.”  Well…  This is the first year I’ve ever made them.  So, in light of this, maybe this recipe will inspire you to make some in six years time or if you’re more pro-active than me you might even make them this Easter.

All you need for a basic egg is some chocolate, some hot water and an Easter egg mould.  My mould came from the wonderful Gill Wing, you can easily get some online and I know John Lewis have some mini silicone ones.

As for the “(salted caramel)” part of this recipe…it’s in brackets because I’m not really sure how good it is, it adds something but I think my method is a bit skewed and perhaps if it’s your first time too it might be best to go with a classic, straight-up chocolate egg.

DSC_0599

for the egg: 250g chocolate of your choice (if not adding salted caramel, add 50g more choc)

for the salted caramel: 50g golden caster sugar, 1 tbsp creme fraiche or double cream, 2 pinches sea salt flakes

Chop the chocolate into small chunks and place in a small bowl.  Boil the kettle and pour the water into a larger bowl, place the chocolate bowl into this to allow the chocolate to melt.  Give a little stir of encouragement every few minutes.  Leave it in the hot water so it doesn’t harden up.

DSC_0628

If doing the caramel…. Slowly melt the sugar in a small pan to make a caramel, shaking it around every so often so it melts evenly.  Once it’s turned golden, add the creme fraiche and salt and stir.  If it solidifies again, melt back down.  Add bit by bit into the melted chocolate, using a stick blender to combine.

DSC_0640

Now it’s time to layer up the egg.  Place a couple of spoonfuls of melted chocolate into one half of the mould and swirl it around until evenly coated.  Repeat with the other half.  Place in the fridge for 10 minutes.

Repeat this process until you’ve done four layers, use a knife to even off the edges of both halves – otherwise it will be very difficult to stick them together, believe me, I tried.  Leave to set for about 45mins to 1 hour.

DSC_0649DSC_0662Hold some of the remaining melted chocolate back to use as a glue to join the two halves together.  Use the rest to make some little chocolates to fill the egg with.  I used a silicone ice tray, but you can get all sorts of fancy chocolate moulds.  To make six chocolates, I half filled each cube with chocolate, left them until almost set and then added a hazelnut to each and covered with more chocolate.  I left these to set for about 45 minutes while the egg was setting.

DSC_0652

DSC_0687

Removing the egg from the mould is easier than I expected, pull the mould outwards and it seems to release itself.  Place the chocolates in one side (handle gently or the shine will disappear), coat the edge of one half with melted chocolate and place the other half on top.  This didn’t work so simply for me as I hadn’t left enough chocolate so there was all sorts of activity with a blow torch, not advisable.

Wrap up however you fancy and give it to someone lucky.

DSC_0727If chocolate isn’t your thing, how about giving these Hot Cross Buns a go, today’s the day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Easter Eggs (salted caramel)

  1. frippyfyfe says:

    Wow! I’d give it a go if only some of my famy would come home for Easter! XX

  2. Christopher T says:

    yum!
    am going to give it a go dont have time for the egg though but will make chocs! egg in 6 years time……….

Leave a Reply

