A Little Plant Protection

As the colder weather is closing in on us and the heating is on, it seems only fair to give my little lettuces a bit of shelter.  Having done some research, the general consensus is to build a tunnel structure, under which they can still recieve light.  I have a degree of anxiety about these plants surviving so I wanted to act quickly, I looked around the house to see what I could use.   James applied his strength to cutting up some old coat hangers with a pretty blunt pair of wire cutters.  I bent these into arches and stuck them in the ground and then covered with clingfilm and buried the straggling bits on the ground with earth.   And they looked like this…

They didn’t exactly withstand the rainfall, so I’m going to add some more hoops or a long piece of coat hanger along the top to stop the clingfilm from smothering the lettuce. 

I’m sure there are plenty of other tried and tested ways of protecting your plants – plastic bottles seem to be a popular tactic or you could be more sensible and go and buy something potentially more effective from the garden centre, but this may just work. I’ll let you know how it goes…

This entry was posted in Growing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

