Ginger Juice

Yesterday I somewhat over eagerly embarked on the process of making ginger beer.  I was pretty excited by the prospect and in my excitement I clean forgot to check if I had all the ingredients.  So I had my ginger and sugar all measured out and ready to go, went to the cupboard to get the cream of tartare and it wasn’t there.  Very strange really, because it normally is.  Oh well. 

Instead I’ve made this slightly extraordinary ginger juice concoction which is surprisingly tasty!  So if you have a bit of ginger left over from something you could give it a go.  I will soon, armed with cream of tartare, make some ginger beer.

80g ginger, grated

1 lime, cut into 8 wedges

200g light brown sugar

2 1/2 litres water

Place all the ingredients in a saucepan.  Put over a low heat and allow the sugar to dissolve.  Once it has dissolved, turn up the heat and bring up to the boil.  Let it bubble away for 10 minutes.  Then turn the heat down and use a slotted spoon to remove the lime pieces.  Return to the boil and let bubble away for a further 10 minutes.

Remove from the heat and allow to cool.  Pour into a bottle and store in the fridge.

It’s really delicious with some ice, mint and a little bit of sparkling water.  It’s even more delicious with a splash (or two) of vodka.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Herbs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ginger Juice

  1. Tania deLuzuriaga says:

    oh delish! I am a huge ginger fan and always looking for ways to use extra…

Leave a Reply

