Granola and Plum Compote

I had a huge excess of golden plums lurking around from a job.  I had bought them in a panic when I couldn’t find any apricots and as much as I hate to admit it, I thought I was going to have to try to fake an apricot with a yellow plum.  It was for a jam recipe so the secret would have been safe with me I reckon, but I was horribly reluctant to do it because as a rule I don’t do trickery in my food styling.   But, desperate times….  At the last minute, my greengrocer came through and supplied my with some beautiful little apricots.  So what to do with 18 golden plums?  A super easy compote.  You could halve the quantities if you don’t want to make quite so much – that’ll make a standard jar full and should keep for a few weeks at least in the fridge.

18 plums

100g granulate sugar

300ml water

Cut the plums in half, remove the stones and place the flesh in a saucepan.  Add the sugar and cover with the water.  Slowly bring up to a simmer, allowing the sugar to dissolve.  Once the sugar has dissolved, turn up the heat and let the mixture bubble away for 20-30minutes.  Remove from the heat when the plums have softened and it’s nice and thick.

You could also add any spice, or vanilla, if you like.  Just pop it in at the start.  Mine was destined to go with some granola at breakfast time, so I wanted it to be pretty simple.  Granola is a great thing.  I’ve mentioned before in my spiced nuts post that I always seem to have lots of open packs of nuts lying around – a bit of granola or muesli making will help use these up.  Plus I can’t buy the shop stuff as I end up having to pick all the raisins out, I don’t know why, but I can’t bear raisins in my cereals and it’s quite a laborious task.  Easier to make my own really.

Anyway here’s the granola recipe, obviously you can chop and change the nuts you use.  The picture is on my very smart new desk which is positioned by the window looking over the garden so I can make sure my radishes are behaving, which they are – their leaves are getting positively huge! 

600g oats

300g mixed nuts – walnuts, brazil, hazelnuts, almonds and pecans

100g seeds – sesame and pumpkin

8 tbsps agave syrup

4 tbsps honey 

Preheat the oven to 180c (no fan).  Spread the oats and nuts out onto a tray and bake for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally (if your oven’s anything like mine, the edges will start taking on colour quite quickly).  After 20 minutes they should be turning a nice golden colour.  Stir in the seeds, agave syrup and honey and bake for a further 15-20 minutes until it’s all gone golden, stirring a couple of times.   Remove from the oven and spread out on a separate tray (otherwise it’ll stick) to cool.

Eat with some yoghurt / milk and the plum compote.

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Granola and Plum Compote

  1. Pingback: Milk Glass Compote | VASELINE GLASS COLLECTIBLES

  2. Frippy says:

    I added lemon rind and that too was delicious. Great granola, I supplemented the agave and honey with maple syrup, worked a treat.

Leave a Reply

