Garlic Harvest

In my first ever post, Sifting the Soil, I finish up saying how I had slightly hastily planted some garlic.  Today I decided it was time to uproot this garlic to get it ready for the eating.  I planted it back in September, so it has had a good nine months under ground.  I have to be honest and admit that lookswise it’s not quite like the stuff you find in your greengrocers, but it is pretty special in its own little way.

I cleaned off the dirt with my hands, but I guess a brush or something would be quite useful for this.  Once cleaned, it looked pretty beautiful.

I haven’t read much about the garlic growing thing, but what I’m slowly begining to learn is that root veg seem to be finding it quite hard to push down into our heavy clay soil.   So perhaps next year, I’ll try planting the root stuff in the pots and leave the beds for things that grow above ground.  Other than that, I’m not sure what else prevented this garlic from getting to it’s proper size.  The stalks above ground were definitely drying up and dying away and from what I’ve read that makes me pretty certain it wasn’t too early to harvest it – if any gardeners who actually know what they’re doing out there have any suggestions or thoughts, I’d be very grateful to hear them!

Can you guess which one I didn't grow?

Anyway, I had a taste of one clove and it was garlicky and delicious so I’m happy.  I’m going to keep the ones in the picture below to eat fresh as they don’t seem to have the skin around the bulb like the others, any suggestions why that might be?

The rest I’ve tied up to dry in the sun today and then I’m going to hang them in our basement where it’s nice and cool.

So all in all, only a moderate success on the garlic front really.  Hopefully I’ll do better next year with a bit more research, but I’m very pleased to have even my mini garlic to show for the year’s growing.

This entry was posted in Growing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garlic Harvest

  1. Anonymous says:

    Congrats on the garlic Laura!. I have always wanted to grow it but never got around to it Maybe I will try this year fresh is delicious try it in the warm summer salad from Sybil Kapoors lovely book simpluy British I think its called, baby summer veg with little gems in butter! fabby

    Christopher

  2. Laura Fyfe says:

    Thanks Christopher, it’s delicious and really worth giving a go!

Leave a Reply

