Oven Baked Root Vegetable Crisps

At the end of a LONG day’s recipe testing, I found myself left with these three pieces of veg and I knew that if I didn’t do something with them straight away they would slowly begin to shrivel up and lose all signs of life in the fridge.  So, as if I hadn’t cooked enough already, I jumped onto the task of transforming them into some delightful little crisps.

It’s always good for me to cook something I want to cook at the end of a ‘work day’ in the kitchen as I can find myself close to forgetting that I made food my career because I love it. Instead I simply feel completely fed up and overwhelmed by the very idea of even seeing any tiny morsel of food.  Creating a recipe refuels me with the enthusiasm that can sometimes seem like a distant memory (even if it was as recent as the Purple Cauliflower on Saturday).   So with all that in mind, this is what happened to these root vegetables (you can of course substitute the veg and make them of entirely potatoes for example or use whatever spices you fancy, or none at all!):

Ingredients

360g butternut squash

170g potatoes (Maris Piper)

70g sweet potatoes

2 1/2 tbsps olive oil

1 tsp fennel seeds, crushed

1/2 tsp smoked paprika

Preheat the oven to 140c (with fan).  Slice the veg as thinly as possible*.  Put it all in a bowl and toss with the olive oil, crushed fennel seeds and smoked paprika.  You have to get in there with your hands, making sure each slice is evenly coated in oil.  Lay the slices out on a few baking trays lined with greaseproof paper and in a single layer, you do not want the slices to be touching if they are, they won’t go crispy.  Sprinkle with some sea salt.

Bake for 20 minutes, remove and turn each slice over.  Cook for a further 15 minutes.  At this point, if your oven is anything like mine, some will be nice a crispy and some not.  Remove the crispy ones to a wire rack and keep cooking the rest, checking every few minutes or so, until they are all nice and crispy.  Enjoy!

*for this type of slicing, I couldn’t recommend a good quality mandolin more highly – it’s an invaluable piece of kitchen equipment.  Mine’s a Benriner and it’s doing me very well.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Veg and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oven Baked Root Vegetable Crisps

  1. Sandy says:

    What a brilliant idea – right up my street, but I fear the AGA wouldn’t cooperate so we would have to resort to the unhealthy deep fat frier1

  2. sandyfyfe says:

    Brilliant idea, right up my street but I don’t think the AGA would cope so it would have to be the old deep fat frier!

  3. mollycaenwyn says:

    MMmmm!! they look delicious! Just got a mandolin for christmas and going back home tomorrow so I am dying to try to make veg crisps!

Leave a Reply

