Slow Roast Pork Loin with Baked Quince

Here’s a very beautiful piece of meat which spent a good five and half hours slowly sizzling away in my oven to become tender, delicious and nicely crackled.  I’d seen a joint of roast pork loin on the bone in a book somewhere, I’d never cooked it before so pretty much immediately went to ask my butcher if he had any.  He did, so this is what fed my friends on Sunday.  This is a cut that could be slow cooked or cooked high and fast – however I love a slow cook and it had to slightly fit in with my morning trip to a car-boot sale.  So in it went at 9.30am before I went out.  A few hours later, I got home to the wonderful smell of roasting pork and with a big old 1860s Wedgewood serving plate to carve it onto.

Serves 8

For the Pork

3.8kg pork loin on the bone (this one was 10 ribs)

1 tbsp white wine vinegar

2 carrots, chopped

1 stick celery, chopped

1 onion, cut into wedges

6 cloves garlic, squashed

small bunch thyme

The night before you cook the pork, take it out of the fridge and make sure it has been scored nice and deeply – either ask your butcher to do this or I always go over it with a trusty stanley knife.  Rub the vinegar all over the skin and place back in the fridge uncovered to let the skin dry out a bit (this will help it crackle).

The next day, preheat your oven to 110c (no fan).  Place all the veg and thyme in the base of a large roasting dish and plonk the meat on top.  Rub a little olive oil into the skin, sprinkle with sea salt and pour water around the meat.  Place in the oven and roast for 5 hours.

Once the five hours are up, turn the heat up to about 220c and let the meat crackle away for about half an hour until it is all golden and crisp.  Carve and serve.

Baked Quince

I was lucky enough to have a couple of quince left over from a job last week and I thought they would make a nice accompaniment to the pork as an alternative to apple sauce, so here’s what I did to the funny looking fruits:

1 lemon, halved

2 Quinces

1 1/2 tsp sugar

10 garlic cloves, squashed

8 sage leaves

25g butter, cut into small pieces

Squeeze the lemon into a large bowl of cold water.  Peel the quinces and add them to the water to stop them going brown.  Quarter each quince and remove the core.  Then slice into thin wedges.

Preheat the oven to 180c (with fan).  Bring a large pan of water to the boil and cook the quince for 12 minutes and then drain.  Place in a baking dish and add the sugar, garlic, sage and butter.

Season and bake for 40 minutes, turning occasionally, until just beginning to go golden.  Serve with the pork.

We had all of this with some cabbage simply shredded, fried in butter and seasoned with salt and pepper, some lovely roast potatoes and last but not least some delicious crab apple jelly.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Slow Roast Pork Loin with Baked Quince

  1. Jenny Lau says:

    oh my gosh that crackling!!!

    where did you get your piggy from?

  2. Anonymous says:

    Looks delicious Laura, You are the only person I have come accross to use wine vinegar the night before. I learnt that from a Swiss chef who had worked in Monte Carlo in the 1950’s! However I would leave the pork out of the fridge over night to get it up to room tempareature prior to cooking, i supose its less imprtant with a 5 hour cook and water!

  3. Laura Fyfe says:

    thank you! i can’t remember where i picked up the wine vinegar trick, but i know for sure i wasn’t in monte carlo in the 50s, so don’t think it was there. it has always worked for me, so i’ve stuck to it. the pork loin in your book looks incredible, i’ve just been drooling over it!

    • Anonymous says:

      Thank you!
      I obviously am hopeless at this as I see I am referred to as “anonymous” I have no idea what I did or didnt do! and am very impressed you worked out who it was, will be very interested to see if my name appears on this post!
      love seeing quince used. Rowley Leigh ( a hero of mine) does a great dish in his no place like home. I have got some japonica fruits which are a bit tougher any ideas for them. if I was very clever ( like you) I would have a pic
      Christopher

      • Laura Fyfe says:

        how about some jelly and membrillo?? i was tossing up whether or not to do that with my quince, but might try and find some more to make membrillo – i love that stuff!

  4. Pingback: This Little Piggy went to Pie | Sifting and Sowing

  5. Aiko says:

    Oh, thanks for the quince recipe! We have a giant old tree that produces a lot of fruit and last year we made jelly (which is quite delicious), and this year I’ve been aching to do something with the quince other than stir a pot of its liquid for 2 straight hours.

Leave a Reply

