Smokey Tomato Sauce

Fred the vegetarian came round to our house last night with a large box of meat, some of which was a present.  The rest I think for his secret meat addiction.  In amongst the beef bones and brisket were some delicious Buffalo Burgers which James and I have just snaffled for lunch.  To go with them I made a quick, and dare I say it myself, pretty tasty smokey tomato sauce.  It’s got quite a kick to it so you don’t need much…

Ingredients:

1/2 onion, diced

6 tomatoes

1 clove garlic

2 tbsps red wine vinegar

1tsp smoked paprika

Small pinch dried chillies

1 tbsp muscovado

Heat 1 tbsp oil in a frying pan and place over a medium to low flame.  Dice the onion and add to the pan along with a pinch of salt.  Allow to soften while you deal with the tomatoes.

Score the base of each tomato with a cross:

Place in a bowl of just boiled water and leave for about 1 minute (depends on the tomatoes) until the skins start to come away.  Carefully remove from the bowl and place on a chopping board.  Peel away the skins:

Deseed the tomatoes (I keep the seeds for Pan Tumaca) and then roughly chop.

Add to the pan with the rest of the ingredients and cook down until the tomatoes have softened.  I served it all lumpy, but you could blitz it if you like.   This made enough for about 6 people, but it will keep in the fridge for at least a week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Smokey Tomato Sauce

  1. Jenny Lau says:

    ooh yum are you going to get an Able & Cole meat box? you could give the Rib Man a run for his money with your sauce xx

    • Thanks Jenny, I really want to check out the Rib Man. I don’t know about the meat box, in theory I’d love to but our freezer is already jam packed so until we’ve munched our way through that….

  2. frankie says:

    When i de-seed tomatoes I often wonder what to do with the seeds and the skin. Brilliant idea, I’m going to try it.

    I also
    found a few recipes, for…wait for it….TOMATO DUST! Just what we’ve always needed. Basically you dry the skins out in a low oven for a few hours, then grind ’em up and hey presto! you have a nice bright red powder, good for sprinkling, wafting, drizzling (with some oil) and generally adding a bit more flavour to some dishes. Its a bit silly, but I like it.

  3. Fred says:

    Hmmm, this Fred character doesn’t sound like a legit vegetarian at all.

  4. Aiko says:

    This looks delicious – yum! Just wanted to let you know I changed my blog address from cottonpig.wordpress.com to aikoyoshida.wordpress.com

    See you soon!

Leave a Reply

