Munching on the Train: Sausage Rolls

The big 3, oh, oh has fast been sweeping through my circle of friends and the brilliant upside of this is the excuse to celebrate.  Last weekend we went on the train up to Scotland for the wonderful Molly’s birthday.  With a fridge full of food I got completely over excited by the picnic potential before my eyes.  As luck would have it I had both puff pastry (from the artichoke and chorizo tart) and a couple of sausages which to me obviously screams out sausage rolls – I think these might have been the highlight of the picnic, Jof seems to want one for his birthday present.  Here’s the recipe:

200g puff pastry sheet

2 sausages (approx 200g and I used Cumberland)

1/2 small onion

4 thyme sprigs

Dijon or Wholegrain Mustard

Preheat the oven to 200c.  Lay out the puff pastry sheet and cut into two long pieces.

Remove the sausage from it’s casing and place in a bowl.  Dice the onion and mix (with your hands) into the sausage with the thyme leaves and some seasoning.  Spread the mustard down the middle of the pastry strips (I did one of each mustard) and then place the sausage filling on top.

Roll up, cut each into about 5 mini sausage rolls or 2 for larger ones.  Make a few slashes on the top and bake* (you could glaze them with a little egg wash here, but I didn’t have any eggs) for 20-25 minutes until golden.

*I made them on Thursday and re-heated them on Friday morning wrapped in foil for about 15 minutes.  But you could prepare them the day before, cover in cling and then bake them the morning of your picnic, wrap in foil and they should stay warm.  

This entry was posted in Cooking, Meat, Poultry and Game and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Munching on the Train: Sausage Rolls

  1. Fiona says:

    yum! kicking myself now that I didn’t use the pork mince that came in my Riverfofrd organic meat box to make these…

  2. Jenny Lau says:

    Looovely I have been interesting in doing sausage rolls with my next meat box. I guess you could do them with quite different sausages too, like venison and all that?xx

  3. Hermione says:

    Took these to warm us up on the ice rink this week – they went down a storm! More great recipes please Laura! x

  4. Fiona says:

    Some more pork mince has come my way. I am going to try and make them tonight for the feast of the Galette des Rois. Any tips on using pork mince instead of cumberland sausages? Should I be adding some herbs or what?

    • I reckon you can do it just the same as the recipe (which has thyme, maybe up it a bit), perhaps add a little black pepper too (my sausages were quite peppery). If you want to be double sure the filling is super tasty you can fry a little bit off in a pan to taste before stuffing and rolling and then adjust the seasoning, etc… Enjoy!

  5. Fiona says:

    So, I had a go. I kept the mustard very thin indeed. I only had dijon which is pretty sharp, but they seemed to eat them! I also put some apricots in to the mix because I felt like it! I have this memory of Toulouse sausages which were reddish and delicious and we used to have them all the time from Waitrose when I was a child.

    I made mine a bit too thick, but apart from that they went well! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

