Getting the Gardening Brain in Gear

So it’s time to start thinking about the garden again.  It’s nice thinking about tomatoes and summery delights in mid winter.  It warms you up a touch (briefly).  First off I need to coax James in to dig over the soil so we get lots of delicious manure-y compost in there.  I did it last year, so I figure it’s his turn this year.

Also, I’m going to plant some garlic, later this year than last, really just to see what difference it makes.  I’m going to get my head round what we are going to grow and try and be more organised about it than last year so that we don’t have a massive overload at one time.  I might even draw up a plan.  Crumbs.  I’ll let you know how that one goes and perhaps even try to scan it in for you to see.

Now, for some sowing.  Indoors (of course) as it’s a bit nippy outside for the little baby seedlings.  Here’s a bunch of stuff you can sow now, underlined are the ones I’m going to go for – the others you may want to have a go at.  I’ll keep mine quite near a radiator and by a window that receives plenty of light:

  • Early peas 
  • Chillies (mine are still fruitless from last year, so no more until they produce something)
  • Onion seeds
  • Micro leaves
  • Asparagus (if you have space, we don’t)
  • Carrot
  • Radish
  • Tomatoes
  • Peppers
  • Little gem Lettuce

Right, well that’s it for now – I’ll let you know how it goes…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting the Gardening Brain in Gear

  1. Pingback: Sowing Seeds | Sifting and Sowing

Leave a Reply

