Simple Salad

I started this year out so well; keeping my office tidy, working in a structured, orderly fashion, going to the gym and posting here regularly.  But come the end of January, I’d had enough and most good intentions were thrown out the window.  I’m comforting myself in the idea that I’m not alone here?

Two weeks have passed since I threw in the towel, I’ve jumped back up and am starting to recover my good habits.  The gym is my friend again and so is my blog.  The only problem here is that Amelia has requisitioned her beautiful camera which I have been borrowing for a shameful couple of years now.  I’m left with my trusty 1950’s Canon (not great for the instant nature of a blog) and the iPhone hipstamatic app.  So hipstamatic it’ll be until I either get my photos developed or find myself with a sparkly new digital camera.

Anyway, enough prattle… Here is such a simple recipe that I’m not sure you can even call it a recipe.  It’s brilliant for using up left over bits and pieces of veg and you can substitute in whatever you have to hand.  I had this with some yummy smoked salmon (a lovely Valentine’s present from the boy) and some perfectly ripe avocado.  Oh and it’s super healthy too, I almost feel like a better person for eating it.

Grated Vegetable Salad

1 beetroot, peeled

1 carrot, peeled

1/2 courgette, peeled (or a whole one, we had 1/2 left over)

Handful of hazelnuts, toasted

1 tbsp tarragon, chopped

2 tbsp Argan oil* (or a nice nutty oil)

1 tbsp white wine vinegar

Squeeze of agave nectar

Simply grate all the veg and mix together in a bowl.  Toss through the hazelnuts and the tarragon.  In a separate bowl,  combine the oil, vinegar and agave.  Season with salt and pepper and toss the dressing through the salad.  Serve immediately.

*Argan Oil (if you haven’t come across it before) is delicious and not only very good for you, but also for the women of the Berber tribe in Morocco.  It is made from the Argan tree using sustainable methods and the money made from it goes into the education and health care of the women of that tribe.  For more info have a look at the wiki page, here.

This entry was posted in Veg and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simple Salad

  1. Jenny Lau says:

    You might like the Instagram app instead!? xx

Leave a Reply

