Coconut Muesli

I don’t want to offend anyone, but people who buy muesli are CRAZY.  Especially the expensive stuff that pushes up its prices for the fancy box / bag.  I don’t much like dried fruit in my muesli either – so if faced with some packed full of raisins, I’d rather have a piece of toast.  However, your own muesli is custom-made with a combination of your favourite nuts / seeds / dried fruit / whatever you fancy.  Plus, it only takes about 20 minutes in the oven to make a big batch that will last for ages.  For this one I added some desiccated coconut.

Here’s how.  Preheat the oven to 170c (without fan).  In a large roasting tray, place a few handfuls of oats, two handfuls desiccated coconut and then about 150g nuts and seeds.  I used pistachios, almonds, hazelnuts and golden linseed.

Place in the oven for 15-20 until nicely toasted, shake around and turn once during cooking.  Remove from the oven and allow to cool.  If you want to add some dried fruit, now’s the time.

I’m not much of a milk fan, so I like to scatter it over some yoghurt with a little agave nectar or honey or if it’s a really special day a little maple syrup.  Yum.

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Coconut Muesli

  1. the fyfe is right. i’m totally going to do this. i will be including an unreasonable amount of cashew nuts

  2. Jenny Lau says:

    Oh i am hungry now. I don’t like anything nutty, so I like using pumpkin seeds and linseed. Apparently it makes a very good ‘women’s essential oils’ combo!

  3. There is a huge bag of desiccated coconut in my kitchen which has been very unloved, but this recipe is definitely encouraging it out of the cupboard. I can’t wait to try this out

    • Laura Fyfe says:

      funny you should say that – pretty much what happened here! i can also highly recommend making some anzac biscuits – they are a delicious use of desiccated coconut, sort of coconut-y flapjacks.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Lau, you are making me feel bad. I also do not like raisins or dried fruit and was so excited to find a fruit-free museli in the supermarket at the weekend, I bought a very expensive packet. Next time, I shall be following your lead…

  5. emilybooks says:

    Yum this has made me very excited about going to Planet Organic, spurning those CRAZY expensive packets of muesli and looking very knowledgeable and thoughtful in the row of linseeds and hazelnuts and things. Embarrassing question – I think my oven might only be a fan oven, so should I toast everything at a different temperature?

    • Laura Fyfe says:

      Brilliant! I’m so pleased you’re going to flee the craziness. Not an embarassing question at all. I’d cook it at 160c and keep an eye on it to make sure nothing starts to catch…

Leave a Reply

